“The Academics of Summer” sung to “Boys of Summer” by Don Henley

Nobody in the lot

Nobody in Dean’s suite

I feel it in the air

Summer’s within reach

Empty offices, empty classes

The librarian closes down alone

Associate Dean running by your office

Even though, you’re at home

 

But I can see you

Your macbook shinin’ in the sun

You got your hair combed back and research agenda on, baby

I can tell you that my love for summer will still be strong

After the grading before summer has gone

 

I never will forget those meetings

I wonder if it was a dream

Remember how they made me crazy?

Remember how they made you scream

Now I don’t understand what happened to my article, love

But babe, I’m gonna get back to it

Gonna figure out what it’s made of

 

I can see you-

Your Macbook shinin’ in the sun

I see you typing real slow and citing everyone

I can tell you my love for summer will still be strong

After the grading before summer has gone

 

Out on the road today, I saw a AALS 2003 sticker on a Cadillac

A little voice inside my head said, “Don’t look back. You can never look back”

I thought I knew what academia was

What did I know?

Those days are gone forever

I should just let them go but-

 

I can see you-

Your Macbook shinin’ in the sun

You got that mojito half down and that radio on, baby

And I can tell you my love for summer will still be strong

After the grading before summer have gone

 

I can see you-

Your Macbook shinin’ in the sun

You got that hair slicked back and your pajamas still on at noon, baby

I can tell you my love for summer will still be strong

After the grading before summer has gone

